Sabbatical Day 26 (Turkey Day)

Thanksgiving 2014

Today, the family had dinner with my dad and my step-mom. It was a good day but it was a difficult day.

My dad had a major stroke about 5 months ago. He is lucky to be alive! He can’t talk or walk but he does have some communication skills. He tries to talk from time to time but he is unable to process the words. He is only 61 years old-very young! Unless he gets a miracle (and we are earnestly praying for that), he will never talk or walk again.

Today, our entire family had Thanksgiving dinner in the nursing home. You can only imagine how delicious a turkey dinner from a nursing home is-it was something. It was edible. The kids ate their rolls and that’s about it. Dad ate well and the conversation with Renee was good.

Dad was feeling tired so he went to take a nap. The kids were hungry so we headed to our favorite Thanksgiving restaurant-McDonald’s. And nothing says family giving thanks like a McRib and some chicken nuggets. Doo, doo, do, doo, do…we were loving it! The kids played on the playground while Shanda and I watched the Cowboy game. Now, that’s Thanksgiving!

It was a good lesson for the kids as there were people in the home who were in way worse shape than my dad. And my step-mom told me that the majority of the people never receive visits. It gave us a new Thanksgiving perspective. (and some bad gas for me on the drive back to Amarillo)

Leave a comment